Save Our Scene


RCAH Theater 11/7/09
November 9, 2009, 11:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This weekend I checked out my first ever hip hop show, something I thought was pretty cool. I really had no idea what to expect, as I’ve never even really listened to much hip hop music, but I had a lot of fun and was really really impressed.

There were just two acts tonight. First was DJ Virus, a turntabilist from Ann Arbor. His set was very cool and very interesting. The stuff he played was mostly pretty chill, but he did some really cool trick mixing and scratching. He made a few mistakes, but he was also super impressive at moments. It was altogether really cool, I’d definitely check him out again.

And then there was Rebel Diaz (rebeldiaz.com). To be quite frank, this was one of the coolest experiences of my life. Rebel Diaz is a trio of indigenous artists that play extremely politically motivated music. The members of Rebel Diaz are revolutionaries to the truest extent of the word. They have a clear and distinct message and use their music as a weapon to get that message across. They perform to inspire change and I can really get behind that. I’m glad that music like this exists and that there are people out there trying to get this message out and do something positive with their music. There set was altogether very tight and they never missed a beat. The crowd was small, but they effectively worked the whole audience and made sure that everyone was involved and having a good time. There was a lot of crowd participation and they were often right up in people’s faces. They had problems with one of their mics cutting out, but they handled it very well and continued to play an awesome set.

Like I said, this was one of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had. Rebel Diaz has opened up for some incredible bands like Rage Against the Machine, Public Enemy, and Dead Prez. Their music is incredible and motivated by powerful motives. Please please please check them out, they deserve all the credit and respect in the world.

I was dead center for most of the set so I got some pretty cool photos too. As always, check those out on my Flickr.

–Matt

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

